Dilruwan Perera’s Six-wicket Haul Helps Sri Lanka Beat Australia by 229 Runs in 2nd Test

August 08 14:18 2016

sriNew Delhi, Monday, August 8 – Australia and Sri Lanka were competing in an important contest at Galle International Stadium in Galle. For the visitors, it was the matter of equalizing the series while taking a lead and clinching the series was the objective of the hosts.

In the second Test match that began from August 4, Sri Lankan captain Angelo Mathews won the toss and elected to bat first. Hopes were up from him since the squad comprised players like Vishwa Fernando, Kusal Mendis, Dimuth Karunaratne, Dhananjaya de Silva, Kaushal Silva, Dinesh Chandimal, Dilruwan Perera, Kusal Perera, Rangana Herath and Lakshan Sandakan. Nuwan Pradeep, Roshen Silva, Suranga Lakmal and Asitha Fernando were in extra but enjoyed each bit of the contest while sitting on the bench.

Young Australian skipper Steven Smith was supposed to guide his side in a way that could make Australia taste first victory of their tour of Sri Lanka. Expectations were sky high from Adam Voges, Joe Burns, Usman Khawaja, David Warner, Peter Nevill, Nathan Lyon, Jon Holland, Mitchell Starc, Mitchell Marsh and Josh Hazlewood. However, the hopes died after first innings of Australia came to an end at a score of 106. They could only bat for 33.2 overs succumbing easily to Sri Lankan cricketers. When Sri Lanka scored 281 runs in 73.1 overs in their first innings, it felt that Aussies will leave no stone unturned to get past this total but that did not happen at all. Things turned worse for them after the hosts finished at 237 runs in their second innings.

The opening duo did not give a start to Sri Lanka as it was likely. Kaushal Silva was the first man to lose his wicket at an individual score of 2. His catch was taken by Smith in Hazlewood’s over. Dimuth Karunaratne couldn’t play an impressive innings and lost his wicket to Starc at a score of 7, which comprised a boundary. Kusal Mendis struck a boundary and scored 7 runs in 14 deliveries when his stint was ended by Starc. He can’t repeat the good show what he did during Sri Lanka’s 1st innings. He was the highest scorer, setting base for his team to stay on track. Kusal Perera tried to keep things work in favour of his team and played a knock of 35 runs in 38 balls, with the help of a biggie and four. Lyon sent him back to the dressing room, worrying Angelo Mathews’ led side to a certain extent since nothing can be predicted certainly in the game of cricket.

Wicket-keeper batsman Dinesh Chandimal hit a couple of fours but lost his wicket to Strac at a score of 13 in 29 balls. Sri Lankan fans expected considerable contribution from the skipper and he did not disappoint. Mathews scored 47 runs in 69 balls, together with five boundaries. Lyon ended his stint to make his team heave a sigh of relief as the lead was getting bigger. Dhananjaya de Silva was impressive by sending the ball into the fences for five times. Before his wicket was gone in the hands of Nevill in Starc’s over, the batsman scored 34 runs in 48 deliveries, together with five boundaries. Dilruwan Perera confidently faced Australian bowlers to pocket a good total. The 34-year-old right-handed batsman scored 64 runs in 89 balls, together with seven fours and a couple of sixes. Perera played his innings with a strike rate of 71.91.

Rangana Herath played well too before being dismissed by J Holland at a score of 26 in 55 balls, together with a four.  Even though Starc got Perera’s wicket but he had to earn it in true sense. Vishwa Fernando was out for a duck in the same over. All 10 wickets were lost in 59.3 overs. As a matter of fact, the Australian bowlers bowled in discipline, giving just two extras. Starc six-wicket Haul went into vain after Australia were all out in 183 runs. David Warner once again let the Sri Lankan players do a lot of running on the ground by hitting seven boundaries. But turmoil began right from the beginning when Joe Burns was out by Herath at a score of 2. Nathan Lyon succumbed to Perera on a naught. Usman Khawaja threw his wicket to D Perera at a score of zero. Warner was also dismissed by D Perera at a score of 41 attained in 31 balls. This was the time when stress started to build on Australian side.

Despite the fact that Steven Smith was dismissed at a score of 30 in 58 balls (4 x 3), the Aussies did not get the kind of momentum which would have let them strong in the Test match. Perera continued to shine as Adam Voges was his another prey when playing at a score of 28 runs (4 x 3). Mitchell Marsh was lbw by Lakshan Sandakan at a score of 18 (4 x 1). Mitchell Starc showed some batting skills by hitting a six and three 4s to get 26 runs off 31 balls but Herath did not let him think of taking his team close to the target set by Sri Lanka. Josh Hazlewood was dismissed by D Perera at 7 runs (4 x1). Peter Nevill was run out by K Mendis when playing at 24 runs (4 x 3) and this was the moment when Australia lost the series at the hands of Mathews’ men. 16 Jon Holland was not out at a zero .

Australia were under pressure from the beginning and did not rise till the end. Dilruwan Perera was given ‘Man of the Match’ award for his wonderful play both with bat and ball. He took six wickets, making Sri Lanka taste a win by 229 runs. Australia now need to bounce back in the third Test, which is slated to take place at Sinhalese Sports Club in Colombo from August 13 to August 17. A win in final Test will help them gain confidence and do well in the ODIs and T20Is. The victory is enjoyed by Sri Lanka knowing the fact that Aussies are not easy to beat.